Life at WU

The Journey Forward

Hi everyone!

First off, I want to apologize for the infrequent updates–with this fall semester almost halfway through, there have been a lot of new developments on the horizon that have kept me pretty busy!

I also wanted to write a farewell message, since this will be my final blog post.  As a senior, I am now looking forward (hence “The Journey Forward”) to my life after WashU.

I am now in the midst of the applying to clinical psychology doctoral programs.  This type of graduate program would allow me to pursue my love of psychology and research.  As a graduate student I would have the opportunity to take more advanced classes in psychopathology and research methodology as well as conduct my own research–exciting!! Nevertheless, programs are competitive so I am still exploring other options for after graduation that would keep me happy and making money 🙂

I wanted to close with a short note that may be of help to any of you who are beginning your own application process and seriously considering WashU.  My 3 1/2 years here have been incredible!  When I look back, I am not sure if I could imagine it any other way.  I have met amazing people and truly enjoyed a diverse environment, full of different perspectives and opinions that have opened my mind to many new ideas but also solidified my previous beliefs into a set of core values that I can take with me to the next phase of my life.  I have benefited immensely from having professors, all of whom conduct their own research, as role models and as sources of knowledge, not only in their field of study but also in general life wisdom.  Not to mention, the housing and food during my stay here has been superior and continues to improve each year–by the time you move in, I’m sure the dorms will have become castles with heavenly heaps of food for each and every meal 🙂

Each student you talk to will have their own take on the WashU undergraduate experience, but I can honestly say that I don’t know of another time in my life when I will have the same opportunities that I have had here at WashU.  From meeting new people to enjoying delicious food and Tempur-Pedic mattresses to the academic environment—it will be sad to see my time here end, but I am very much looking forward to taking my memories and moving onto the next phase in my (young) life! 🙂

 

Cheers and good luck to you all, no matter where you may choose to go!  Hopefully I will see you on campus sometime in the future 🙂

 Image

This entry was published on October 16, 2012 at 11:11 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

